Hibernate issues on Thinkpad T450s

Read updates after the main body for context.

UPDATE (May 22 2017) When I forced the firmware to use ucode version
17 for the iwlwifi driver, my network has been a lot more stable even on
the enterprise networks like my university network and eduroam.
Hibernate is pretty stable except for the following problem:

Close the lid and systemd-logind triggers suspend. Using the suspend hook,
the delayed hibernate script triggers a wake after 2 minutes. Then the
computer hibernates. However, I cannot awaken the computer (using the power
switch until I plug it in again!) Once I do so, the power switch works
normally and the computer resumes from hibernate.

One option is to manually handle the powerswitch using xfce power
manager or something. Here are some ideas:

  1. Disable systemd-logind handling of the lidswitch and try xfce4 power
    manager, and see if the original issues it had are resolved.
  2. Disable logind and xfce power manager (that I use primarily for
    dimming and locking the screen). Then, switch to acpid for hitting
    systemctl to handle the lidswitch

UPDATE (May 13 2017) I couldn’t track down the patches on the 4.4
kernel to apply it properly. So I reverted the ucode version that the
iwlwifi driver was using on the 4.10 kernel to see if this solves my
wifi instability issues.

dmesg | grep iwl

The 4.10 kernel appears to use

loaded firmware version 22.391740.0 op_mode iwlmvm

and the 4.4 kernel uses

loaded firmware version 17.352738.0 op_mode iwlmvm

I deleted the

/usr/lib/firmware/iwlwifi/*7265D-2[0-9].ucode

and now the 4.10 kernel seems to load an earlier firmware version.
Perhaps this fixes the instability on networks that use WPA2-Enterprise.

UPDATE (May 12 2017) I have wifi instability issues on the newer
kernels like 4.9 – 4.10 on the iwlwifi driver. I don’t know what
changed, but I frequently need to ifconfig down/up the interface or
rmmod/insmod the iwlwifi driver.

So I went back to the 4.4-lts kernel available on the AUR with the
4.4.64 patch set. Then I installed the following two patches:

  1. https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/9208541/
  2. https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/9202321/

One of the patches didn’t apply since they were meant for the 4.1.6
kernel, so I manually inserted some of the rejected patches. It appears
to work after a couple of tests. The patch appears to be merged with the
following commit number

406f992e4a372dafbe3c2cff7efbb2002a5c8ebd

It’s quite annoying that the iwlwifi driver is so unstable on the newer
kernels with my Intel 7265 card. I will update it if there is a problem.
Also, the unpatched 4.4.0 kernel also appears to work quite well, even
without the patches, but I haven’t tested it with more that 8GB memory
in used, which is what seems to create the problem.

UPDATE (May 09 2017) Intel rapid start (irst) craps out every once
in a while. After a few successful hibernates, it seems to go into a
boot loop of some sort, and then simply unsuccessfully reboots. So I’ve
disabled it, and moved to a newer kernel (4.9) that does not appear to
have hibernate issues. I’m using this delayed hibernate script on the
ArchWiki.

I’ve been having Hibernate issues on my thinkpad 450s. Apparently this
is quite common see this kernel bug
report
and has
existed in the newer kernels since version 3.x. So my solution was to
use the Intel Rapid Start technology. It was originally suggested on the
kernel bug report. It was quite easy to do.

  1. Make a partition that is greater than or equal to the amount of ram
    in your notebook.

    gdisk /dev/sda
    n
    

    Then, set partition name, start sector and size by following the
    prompts. Select 8400 (Intel Rapid Start) when prompted for a
    Hex Code or GUID. Hit w to write the partition table and q to
    quit.

  2. Go into the bios, and under power you’ll find the Intel Rapid Start
    technology. You can set deep sleep mode to set in after an hour of
    suspending – that’s what I’ve set mine too.

  3. Next time just suspend your thinkpad. Rapid Start works flawlessly.

The old hibernate issues have been resolved on newer kernels (4.7 and
above). But I always find hibernate a little buggy. For example, the
display frequently gets screwed up on my laptop and I have to restart X
or my display manager.

